top of page

To Belong and Ban Trump

“Nothing in life is to be feared, it is only to be understood. Now is the time

to understand more, so that we may fear less.” - Marie Curie

It rained, today. At 6:45, I woke up to the rain. I ran out in my pajamas in the small courtyard. I felt the water on my face. Who does that in Kakuma? Staci, of course does this.

For the past three Sundays, I have had the pleasure of spending time with children, youth, and teachers at a local after school program. A Somali young woman in a red hijab grabs my hand. She doesn’t let go when she is told we don’t need to hold hands. She continues to hold my hand and squeezes it. I am not sure why she continued to hold my hand, all I knew is I loved it. As we played a Somali game that I barely understood, I was lost in her hand. I was lost in the connection of the squeeze and the peace it gave me as I received it. I am never certain that I belong anywhere, but for a split second, I felt I belonged in that circle of friends.

In light of the current vitriolic hatred/diarrhea that is spewing from Mr Trump’s policies and mouth, in particular on the Executive Order in banning certain refugees in the US, I am disappointed and embarrassed to be an American. Although, I am proud to hear that people are out in forces protesting.

All I can say is that every American needs to meet these wonderful human beings and then tell them to their faces why they should be banned in our country. The people I have met from Muslim-majority countries, particularly Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, and Darfur have the deepest conviction of doing no harm to others, wanting peace, and an overwhelming sense of hope. These people are needed in our country.

In the after school program, a question was asked of everybody, what do you want to be and why? A Somali boy remarks he wants to be in the military. When asked why? He responded matter of fact, I want to rid Somalia of El Shahaab.

When it was my turn, I couldn’t answer. I am not sure what I want to be. All I know is that I wanted that feeling of belonging to return. I want everyone to feel that when they arrive in the US.

Today, I ask instead of fearing people you don’t know, reach out. Reach out and be brave. Offer some spaces of respite and hope for this is going to be a long 4 years. We must persist and resist.

Lastly, Fuck you, Trump. You are breeding hate, islamophobia, and racism. The American people should ban you.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page